Picture
One of my favorite things to do in July is pick blueberries. Once every year my mom and I rise with the sun and drive to our favorite u-pick farm hidden away in the foothills of the Appalachia mountains.

There we pick side-by-side for hours, chatting about everything under the sun. It's the one time each year that I can count on having my momma's complete attention without any interruption. No babes a-whining. No toddler requests. Nothing. Just her and me and a plethora of plump blueberries. And that, my friends, is a little taste of heaven.

Picture
After hauling home my 26 pounds of berries, I set to work freezing some, washing others, and dehydrating the rest. Now, what to do with my spoils?

This year I departed from my usual blueberry recipes to try something new I saw over at Immer Wachsen (a blog you should be reading, if you aren't already). And I'm so glad I did!

Although I made a few tweaks to Hannah's Blueberry Nut Granola in keeping with what I had on-hand... the recipe was amazing. And delicious. Deliciously amazing! 

I tossed all of my dry ingredients together the night before in one of my beloved half-gallon canning jars. In the morning, I added to the dry ingredients honey, coconut oil and melted butter. Then, I spread the mixture on two cookie sheets and baked them at 250F for 2 hours. Easy peasy and oh so good.

Now I have yet another recipe to add to my collection for good eats not just in July but all year long.

menuplan8.pdf
File Size: 148 kb
File Type: pdf
Download File

What are your favorite blueberry recipes? How about summer memories?

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Enter your Email:
    Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

     Comment Policy

    PLEASE REVIEW THIS COMMENT POLICY BEFORE POSTING:

    We appreciate your comments, both positive and critical. All comments on the Nourishing Herbalist are moderated. If your comment is rude, it will be deleted. If it is critical, please make sure it's constructive so that it benefits all readers.

    Categories

    All
    Aromatherapy
    Cultured Foods
    Essential Oils
    Exercise
    Health
    Herbalism
    Home Health Care
    Homeopathy
    Menu Plans
    Real Food
    Travel

    Notice:
    Ads are not 
    necessarily endorsed by
    the Nourishing Herbalist